endorsement for president, with explanation

I hate election year. I hate watching everyone get hyped up over bullshit when they should be paying attention to real shit all the time. I actually don’t hate how much everyone fights, but I hate it in contrast with the “oh it’s okay it’s just politics” huggy shit that goes afterward when people decide it’s okay to hang out with people who don’t care about other people’s civil rights or the environment or whatever. I hate the fights on the left between the democrats and those of us who are further left, and the vote strategizing, and the arguments about who’s obligated to do what. I hate the fights on the right because it reminds me yet again how horrible everyone is and that “I hate women and homos, let’s kill” is still a viable campaign strategy.

Most of all, I hate the total lack of options and the shitty candidates and their fakeass smiles and willingness to do horrible stuff to us all.

I am cynical about the presidential race in any year. My former veterinarian put it best when I walked in with my old lady cat Samantha many years ago when she said, “So, which millionaire do you like for president?”

Generally I think that’s a good assessment: the candidates are two rich asshole straight guys with horrible foreign policy ideas and no concern for what most of us go through every day. However, in a system where there are effectively two choices and the electoral college standing in the way of a real popular vote, I am very practical minded about this because I live in a swing state and because I ultimately am only hopeful about one issue:

Which asshole millionaire is going to appoint better judges to the Supreme Court and the federal judiciary?

Ginsburg, Breyer, Scalia, and Kennedy are all in their 70s. Ginsburg has gone two rounds with cancer, and last time it was in her pancreas. The next president will appoint probably at least two Justices, and it could be more – it could easily be all four of them, and any of the others could have a health event at any time or simply decide to retire. Obama has given us Kagan and Sotomayor, who I think are okay. Romney will go for conservative ideologues in the mold of Scalia and Alito. Scalia writes opinions where he talks about the homosexual agenda, and Alito is a fascist who okayed a strip search on a ten year old. Right now, we have four good Justices and sometimes Kennedy is reasonable but you can’t count on him.

Scalia, Thomas, Alito, and Roberts would be happy to overturn Roe v. Wade, and that would be the first of many liberties to go as we head right back into the Lochner era. They just need a fifth vote, and Romney would be happy to give it to them.

I do not have a high opinion of Obama, but I live in a swing state and I’ve already lived under Romney’s shitty governance and don’t want any more of it, not least because I think he’s a sociopath. I’m not going to dis anyone whose conscience does not allow them to vote for Obama and will in fact continue to defend this position as I think voting your conscience is awesome and even when you vote for Elvis that’s absolutely your right as an American. But for me, I fear a court of Alitos like I fear little else.

One Comment on “endorsement for president, with explanation”

  1. Good News! says:

    Good news! Your state is not even vaguely a swing state unless you moved recently. President Obama has a 14 percentage point advantage, and Mitt Romney has polled above 40% once ever. You are free to vote your conscience.


Leave a Reply

