Complain to your senators about the NDAA!

While I think that much of Congress is not listening and does not care about my petty gripes about civil liberties and what it means to be an American, even when I am taking the shortest view possible I like to waste lots of their time and plenty of the internet’s electrons. I endorse other people doing the same:

Tell Congress To Undo The NDAA, Ban Indefinite Military Detention Of Americans.

Because I loathe drop-in text and think it means the writer isn’t paying attention, here is the letter I wrote, which you may copy, steal, modify, or whatever.

Dear Senators:

I am disturbed by provisions 1031 and 1032 of the NDAA. The first puts indefinite detention on the table for American citizens on US soil, and the second states that US citizens are exempt from mandatory detention, meaning that detention is discretionary, but still optional.

I believe that one of our most shameful acts as a nation was the internment of Japanese-Americans during World War II. I have no desire to see anything like this ever repeated, and am therefore extremely uncomfortable with these provisions.

Further, I do not like the NDAA’s codification of treatment of detained persons in Guantanamo Bay. I believe that indefinite detention is contrary to the American approach to justice, particularly the right to a fair and speedy trial and the right to habeas corpus. Our civil liberties are an asset, not a liability. To truly be the great country I believe and hope we can be, we must protect the rights of all persons under our jurisdiction. This is a cowardly circumvention of the holding in Hamdan v. Rumsfeld and it is unworthy of us as a nation.

I urge you to remedy this by supporting and cosponsoring Senator Dianne Feinstein’s Due Process Guarantee Act.

One Comment on “Complain to your senators about the NDAA!”


Leave a Reply

